Located in the affluent town of Westport, Old Hill is home to 16 spacious homes. Built in 1988 and situated minutes from Westport’s downtown, these townhouses are perfect.
At 1,150 square feet, these two-bedroom units are reminiscent of beautiful colonial homes. Boasting three levels and fireplaces, the selection at Old Hill is nothing short of incredible.
The homes all contain high, vaulted ceilings, which are complimented by large skylights. Each master bedroom contains walk in closets and massive space, perfect for any unique style. The units contain at least two full bathrooms, some of which are top-of-the-line “En-Suite” with marble and granite surfacing. The dining rooms and kitchens are fun and elegant, featuring a wide variety of beautiful countertops and cabinets.
The surrounding area is what makes these units truly unique. Located within walking distance to downtown Westport, Old Hill offers many attractions and highlights that are at your fingertips. Residential landmarks such as the famous Westport Country Playhouse, and the Westport Library provide year round services and events that are a hit with people all over Fairfield County.
In addition, there is an incredible number of designer stores and world renowned restaurants. Finally, Westport boasts some of the best schools in the entire country.
Downtown Westport is a unique place: sophisticated shopping and dining mixed with frozen yogurt establishments, all located on a narrow, one-way street where the buildings are both covered in ivy, and big name brands. It is a combination of quaint New England charm in a lovely riverside setting, and is frequented visited by residents of all nearby Fairfield County communities.
While it may seem that downtown Westport simply grew into this cultural and impressive location, it may have had some help along the way. The Westport Downtown Merchants Association (WDMA) is a nonprofit organization of merchants and landlords working together to improve and sustain the commerce and culture of Westport’s Main Street. This organization sponsors many popular events year-round, and with the community’s support, downtown Westport is able to keep thriving.
Downtown Westport has something for everyone: from local store chains to national retailers, both indoor and outdoor entertainment venues, distinctive eateries and quick stop snack shops, a public library, galleries, the historical YMCA, and even natural beauty – all within a short walking distance.
With ever-changing store fronts and locations, and a constant flurry of community activities, downtown Westport is a perfect place for a stroll, a shopping trip, and to feed the ducks that frequent the Saugatuck River.
Westport is located in Fairfield County on beautiful Long Island Sound. This coastal Connecticut town was first inhabited by American Indians and so many of the neighborhoods, streets and landmarks still hold historic American Indian names.
The first non-American Indian settlers were a group of five farming families. The "Bankside Farmers" arrived in 1648 and settled in what is now known as Westport's Greens Farms area, named after farmer John Green. Westport continued to grow as colonial settlers from surrounding towns moved to the area.
Saugatuck Village was the first area to be developed, Saugatuck (meaning "mouth of the tidal river") was important to farmers, as it allowed them to distribute their goods to other markets. Other business popped up along Saugatuck's riverbanks, forming a bustling community with stores, wharves and even a tavern.
As the community grew, a center for town meetings and worship was warranted. In 1711 the first church was built in Green's Farm. On April 25, 1777, during the Revolutionary War, British soldiers landed at Compo Beach, which is a very popular modern day beach and recreation complex. After several battles in neighboring towns, the British marched back though Saugatuck and fought with local militia in the Battle at Compo Hill. The Minute Man Statue located on Compo Road honors those who died. A second meetinghouse was erected in 1736, but was burned down in July of 1779 by British soldiers.
Saugatuck still thrived after the Revolutionary War and the villagers sought their own charter. After 130 families came together, Westport was incorporated as a town on May 28, 1835.
Compaug Beach, more commonly referred to as Compo Beach, encompasses 29 acres of beautiful beaches and park areas. It is a picturesque beach, at the mouth of the Saugatuck River. The beach has been a popular destination since early colonial settlers decided to make this land their home in the 1700's. Today, Compo is very popular and exclusive neighborhood.
Today's Westport remains a flourishing town popular with artists and has a vibrant creative scene. A town built on diversity, Westport has many Christian-based churches and is home to five Temples. Westport is filled with many businesses, shops, a theater, and is a popular town from which to commute to New York City.